Seven levels of organisational consciousness

The seven levels of organisational consciousness help identify the culture of an organisation. The seven levels, in order, involve a focus on: survival (i.e.

Seven levels of organisational consciousness

Richard Barrett

The seven levels of organisational consciousness is a model and corresponding instrument to express and measure the culture of an organisation. It is analogous to Maslow's pyramid of human needs, and can give insight into the relationship of individual and organisational needs and values, and thus help to direct the cultural development of organisations.

The seven levels are detailed below.


The first need of an organisation is financial health. However, when companies become too entrenched in financial results, they see people and the earth exclusively as resources to...

Not a subscriber?

Schedule your live demo with our team today

WARC helps you to plan, create and deliver more effective marketing

  • Prove your case and back-up your idea

  • Get expert guidance on strategic challenges

  • Tackle current and emerging marketing themes

We’re long-term subscribers to WARC and it’s a tool we use extensively. We use it to source case studies and best practice for the purposes of internal training, as well as for putting persuasive cases to clients. In compiling a recent case for long-term, sustained investment in brand, we were able to support key marketing principles with numerous case studies sourced from WARC. It helped bring what could have been a relatively dry deck to life with recognisable brand successes from across a broad number of categories. It’s incredibly efficient to have such a wealth of insight in one place.

Insights Team
Bray Leino

You’re in good company

We work with 80% of Forbes' most valuable brands* and 80% of the world's top top-of-the-class agencies.

* Top 10 brands