LONDON: Jeremy Basset, the head of Unilever Foundry, the FMCG giant's platform to engage with start-ups and innovative companies, will chair the judging panel of the 2016 Warc Prize for Innovation.

He is joined, in the first round of judges to be named, by a number of agency and industry figures, including Unilever's former vice president of Global Media: Debbie Weinstein is now director, Brand Solutions & Innovations, EMEA at Google, tasked with ensuring brands and their agencies have the best products and solutions to win the moments that matter to their businesses.

Other members of the panel so far are Mark Boyd, co-founder of Gravity Road, a young agency bringing advertising, communication and entertainment together in new ways; Alex Altman, managing director, at full service agency MEC Global Solutions EMEA; and Lawrence Weber, managing partner Innovation at Karmarama, where he oversees the agency's innovation and digital output.

More judges will be announced in coming weeks; a full list and biographies are available on the Prize website.

Basset professed himself delighted to be chairing the judging panel. "In a world where the pace of change will never be as slow as it is today, the need for brands to evolve and innovate has never been more critical," he said.

He indicated a two-step approach to the task of judging entries. "I'll be looking for ideas which fuse innovative technology, product and creative solutions to create a genuinely fresh executions, whilst bring true to the brand vision," he explained.

"I'm also looking for ideas which have been scaled, or have the potential to be scaled to deliver a transformational brand impact."

Now in its fourth year, the competition is free to enter and open to all forms of marketing and communications. Entrants must submit a case study of marketing innovation that delivered meaningful results for a brand.

The work should have been in-market at any time between January 1 2014 and November 30 2015. Full entry details are available at the Prize website.

The competition will name Gold, Silver and Bronze award winners. The Grand Prix, for the best overall paper, will win $5,000. In addition there are five $1,000 Special Awards.

Data sourced from Warc