BRUSSELS: Most European Union countries will have switched off their analogue television signals by 2012, according to Viviane Reding, the European commissioner for information, society and media.

Of the EU's member states, Finland, Germany, Luxembourg and the Netherlands have turned off their analogue signals, and 21 of the 27 nations involved in the EU have digital terrestrial TV services.

Reding argues that the switchover was not only going “according to plan”, but also showed that the EU was moving forward at a faster place that many other countries around the world.

Data sourced from Wall Street Journal; additional content by WARC staff