Size, engagement and passion: The 2011 NCAA Men's D1 Basketball tournament cross-platform research study

Jay Leon and Tom Delaney
Turner Sports and CBS Television Network Sales

Origins of the Research Study

In 2010, the NCAA announced that its marquee sporting event, the Men's Division 1 Basketball Tournament (colloquially known as "March Madness") would be airing for the next fourteen years in a joint venture between CBS Television and Turner Broadcasting.

In prior years the Tournament traditionally consisted of 64 teams competing in a single elimination competition over a two and a half week period. Due to the limitations of airing so many games on one network over such a short period of time, CBS traditionally aired the first three rounds with regional telecasts of games airing simultaneously. The new partnership enabled all games to air in their entirety nationally across four networks (CBS, TNT, TBS and truTV).